Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

The Hub

PimpCups

Big Poppa

Suit of Meat

Funny �cause it�s True

Pound

One Good Thing

Bobofett

Sid�s Fishbowl

Erin Shea

Disco

Trance

James Wolcott

Weetabix

Hiss

Join my Notify List and get email whenever I get around to putting something new here:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

2005-12-27 - 2:20 p.m.

holidays

I�m Not Martha or anything, but damn if our Maki Sushi didn�t look fine on Christmas.

It was also extremely tasty.

We did a whole Asian theme, complete with my Mom decorating with paper lantern lights on the tree and a fan-laden arrangement on the table and fancy chopsticks and teacups and tamari dishes in the stockings.

Grown-up Christmas is fun, as is throwing tradition to the wind. Next year, I�m thinking Mexican with a pre-Christmas tamale making party.

Don�t worry, Big Poppa, there will always be the infamous Prix-family performances. This Christmas was no different, with the Hub on the skins, Tito Puente style.

In other news, the Hub is still avoiding his fam. But first, let me tell you how dimwitted I can truly be:

First, you have to know that the hub is a junior, so he has the same name as his father. Then you have to know that all our phones are under my name, so there is really no excuse for me having accidentally picking up the phone twice when his parents are calling because I thought the caller ID was saying it was my husband calling me.

Also, at one of those times I was very sick and on cold medication and assumed the hub was calling me from downstairs because I couldn�t hear a dang thing with my head all stuffed up like that.

So, I have actually spoken to the hub�s parents on two occasions, but he�s going on four months now, and it�s getting a little awkward with the avoidance. Mostly because I talk regularly with his sister-in-law and we try to have contact with our niece, but the hub is an avoider.

It�s not like the Hub actively avoids his family or has a vendetta or anything, he just can�t be bothered with the bitchiness. But how do you address that exactly? How do you say to one�s family. �I�ll start answering your calls when every time I speak to you don�t have something negative or degrading to say.�

Anyway, this has no positive ending in sight, and I dread the way it will play out.

But Sushi and Christmas and my family in one place for the first time in a long time, that was nice.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!