Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

The Hub

PimpCups

Big Poppa

Suit of Meat

Funny �cause it�s True

Pound

One Good Thing

Bobofett

Sid�s Fishbowl

Erin Shea

Disco

Trance

James Wolcott

Weetabix

Hiss

Join my Notify List and get email whenever I get around to putting something new here:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

2005-09-22 - 4:05 p.m.

My husband is great

I have been bitching a lot lately. Don�t be polite, I know I have been. Go ahead, just say it. We�re friends. I can take it. (If I can�t, I�ll just talk about you to someone else, is all.) Kisses!

The other day, while I was being �ber-dramatic and feeling sorry for myself and stressing over having to pimp myself out to find another job, I lamented about being �mumble� years old and not having done what I�d hoped at this point in my life and blah-blah-blah, pity-pity-pity, sorry-for-myself.

And my sweet hub, the man I share my life with and who indeed makes it sweeter and better and funnier, said he feels he�s right where he wants to be in life because he is with me and was a little hurt that I didn�t feel that way too.

See, I really AM a bitch.

You know, I didn�t mean it that way at all, I was just feeling sorry for myself and the prospect of getting yet another unfulfilling job and the stress to do that and blah-blah-pity-pay-attention-to-me.

Of course I am right where I want to be in the marriage department. Which is really more important than the stupid work department anyway. Which is why I am writing about what I appreciate, and not about what pisses me off for once. This, by no means, is the definitive list, but here are some reasons why the hub is so great.

_�__�__�__�__�__�__�__�__�__�__�__�__�__�__�__�__�__�__�_

Reasons why my husband is great:

He�s really smart. I think that�s sexy.

We always have something to talk about.

He�s encouraging.

He loves and rescues animals. And animals love him. He is Dr. Doolittle.

He helps everybody, even strangers.

He cares about people�s feelings and is sensitive to them.

He does not have a single cruel or ruthless molecule in his body. He is ethical and lives by those standards.

He�s cuddly.

He�s mischievous and naughty.

He puts up with a lot from his crazy, impassioned wife.

He despises injustices.

He embraces diversity.

He has the best smile.

He doesn�t let me leave the bed in the morning without making sure I know he loves me.

He tells me he loves me all the time.

Sometimes he�ll call me from work or a day trip to tell me he misses me.

He also calls to tell me about what he just heard on NPR.

He takes pride in everything he does. He does things with perfection.

He knows a lot of stuff. Seriously, this guy is an encyclopedia.

He thinks big, but acts practically.

He talks me into things. Did I mention the house? Yeah, he makes a convincing argument.

He gets into crazy projects with me, like the house. Not everyone does insane home restoration. Or has a zillion animals. Or is willing to put on and dress up for theme parties. Or is willing to live apart for so long in order to make a big move to a new place.

When he does something, he goes all-out.

He is a very good budgeter and manager. He makes spread sheets for everything. Not only is that kind of cute, but it�s also reassuring to have somebody doing that in our house.

He calls and emails me with the sole intention of just telling me he was thinking about me and that he loves me.

He makes up songs for me. And for our dogs.

He is thoughtful.

He is a great conversationalist.

He dances: Belly Dance, River Dance, Hip Hop, Pat Benatar, Flamenco. He�s very dramatic about it. It cracks me up.

He gives great presents that are thoughtful and have meaning and are just what you�d want.

He cracks me up.

He�s as odd as I am.

He has a unique rationale.

He tells great stories.

He is comfortable around gay men.

He calls my Mom. Without prompting or anything.

He gets along with my sister. This is very important, since she is my other best friend, so they pretty much need to get along. They really get along though. I mean, they can fart in front of each other, and they torment one another like they�re siblings.

He does not judge people or treat people any differently for being different.

He is a great negotiator of difficult situations, which is why he�s such a good manager. He talks people through situations all the time, smoothes things over.

He makes me comfortable.

He makes me happy.

He thinks there is an item of footwear called �Dress Boots�. (He also wears boots with shorts, like he�s a 90�s Seattle-based grunge band member. I find this highly amusing.)

He puts on little skits.

He has the best laugh.

He�s good in bed.

He surprises me with the sweetest notes and presents and cards and treats.

He walks the dogs.

He is very romantic.

He calms me down when I am worried.

He gets excited about things, and it�s contagious.

He makes all kinds of hand gestures when he�s talking.

He is the only person I know who points audibly.

He is also the only person I know who can put Christmas lights back in their original box and make them fit.

He is the only person I know who�d take the time to do that.

He is the only person I know who�d want to do that.

He is patient and careful. I trust him to do things I�d never trust myself doing. He could be a surgeon, if anything the least bit medical didn�t threaten to make him pass out.

He is gentle.

He is the best person to travel with because he�s knowledgeable, good with maps, and not the least bit selfish.

He has beautiful eyes. The palest blue eyes I�ve ever seen.

His toes overlap when he�s standing still, concentrating on something. It�s adorable.

He�s a great kisser.

He never flaunts his knowledge or makes other people feel stupid. He�s never pompous or condescending. Someone else could be prattling on about something he knows a lot about, and he will listen to that person and not contradict or interject.

He doesn�t correct people.

He�s a good listener. He really absorbs what people are saying.

He takes things very seriously.

He makes fun of severity.

He has little nibblet toes.

He has deep convictions: equal rights, tolerance, grace. He can discuss them without blindly quoting rhetoric.

He has opinions but is never preachy.

He is an independent thinker.

He is original.

He does things because they need to be done or should be done, not for acknowledgement.

Sometimes, he�s like a kid.

He appreciates beauty, craftsmanship, hard work and subtlety. He sees and appreciates things that many people do not.

He is sentimental. He is the man with all the mementos.

He is empathetic.

He knows how to play cribbage. Who our age plays cribbage? Honestly?

He really gets along with old people. Probably because he plays cribbage.

He says sweet things that make me re-evaluate my prerogatives.

_�__�__�__�__�__�__�__�__�__�__�__�__�__�__�__�__�__�__�_

Okay, so there�s my little husband tribute. Positive, n�est-ce pas? Don�t get used to it, though, tomorrow I go back to being bitchy ol� me.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!