Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

The Hub

PimpCups

Big Poppa

Suit of Meat

Funny �cause it�s True

Pound

One Good Thing

Bobofett

Sid�s Fishbowl

Erin Shea

Disco

Trance

James Wolcott

Weetabix

Hiss

Join my Notify List and get email whenever I get around to putting something new here:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

2005-09-21 - 4:46 p.m.

Whose conference table have my boots been under?

Well, I did it. I contacted another placement agency.

I feel like a cheatin' cheater, like I'm having a recruitment company affair.

I�m meeting with them on Monday. Maybe nothing will come of it, but anything has to be better than what I�ve got going on with the agency I�m with currently, which is seemingly nothing at all. And I�m not reeling in the takers on my own, so we�ll see.

I despise pimping myself. All for a decent job where I could go and do good work for someone who�d appreciate me just a little and pay me a fair wage with some decent benefits. The American dream, my friends. When did I become so mundane?

So, I�ve tricked out my resume and passed it around for people to critique and help me improve. And I�ve networked with people who can�t give me any leads. And I�ve resorted to Monster and Yahoo and the Help Wanted pages.

No fun for PrixMadonna. No fun at all.

However, my friend, who shall remain unnamed to protect her from people with no sense of humor about aprons, put it all into perspective for me today:

You will get lots and lots of job offers, and then one day you will say 'to heck with the rat race, I'm going to raise delightful children to be my perfect accessory at parties.' Then you will pooh-pooh The Man (whom you work for) and come join my subversive mothers in action group. I'll hold your spot until you're ready "to come to the other side."

That�s right, people, we may just go ahead and have kids so we could tell them, �Go get Mummy a drink.� They�d love us because we�d be so cool and adorable in our 50�s Dior gowns and pearls and aprons at the cocktail parties to which we�d bring our well-behaved, drink-fetching children. N�est-ce pas, Sweeties? Oh, you know it�s so true.

On an unrelated note, what�s with all the Christian Lending spam I get? Why Christian and why me? I think it�s terribly amusing, since money lending is, uh, usury . It doesn�t make sense.

All that time that Christians took it out on the Jews for being money lenders and made up horrible stereotypes about the Jews because it went against Christian doctrine and was one of the only career opportunities for the Jews, particularly during the Middle Ages .*

Now Christianity�s a selling point for usury? Man, do you bible thumpers have some explaining to do. I don�t need a loan, and you hypocrites would be the last people I�d go to if I did.

*I happened to have a Jewish professor for a course in Medieval Art, and this was a huge topic. Also, the Hub was a Jewish Studies minor with a Rabbi as his advisor. These kind of things get a lot of air time in our conversations. Hell, religion in general gets a lot of air time chez nous.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!