Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

The Hub

PimpCups

Big Poppa

Suit of Meat

Funny �cause it�s True

Pound

One Good Thing

Bobofett

Sid�s Fishbowl

Erin Shea

Disco

Trance

James Wolcott

Weetabix

Hiss

Join my Notify List and get email whenever I get around to putting something new here:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

2005-08-07 - 9:20 a.m.

Sunday

I cannot even pretend this is my day off, as I've got too much crap to do.

I am thankful, however, since the brochure for the theater that has consumed me for months is done and at the printers, thank sod. Now onto the website, which is why I am at my computer right now, brain full of nothing. Still, you have to love what I do. This is an actual converation I had regarding the brochure:

me: How committed are we to putting this breast on the cover?

the theater's executive director: I'm pretty committed to it. I want it to be provocative.

me: So I shouldn't have her arm blocking it then? Are we okay showing the breast?

the director: Let's get the drapery a little more ...

me: Opaque?

the director: Yes, and a little less nipplage. Obscure the contour, but keep the breast visable.

me: Okay.

And there you are, one reason to be a designer: having questionable conversations on a cell phone in public.

We just found out last night that one of my parents' dogs will be staying with us while they move, around the time that my sister moves in with her dog. Now I've never been all that good at math, but I think that puts us at five dogs and two cats for about a month's time. Which may technically make our home a petting zoo � I'm not sure. Anyway, keep that under your hat, cause I'm not applying for a kennel license.

On a side note, this weekend I saw Christmas decorations and merchandise up in stores. In August. Alongside Halloween shit. In August. At the beginning of August.

Some exciting news on the home front: Operation Downstairs Bathroom is in effect. This is very exciting.

First of all, we're stripping the room that will be the downstairs bathroom. You see, we want to open up the original downstairs central hall, but it inconveniently has the second bathroom (half bath, actually) in the middle of it. It's a crappy bathroom that we're not using, but you just don't want to go down to one toilet in a house that will invariably have a plumbing problem sooner or later. (Oh, home restoration! I heart you!) So, in order to take out that bathroom, we have to install a new one, and the room where we will be installing it currently is storage. So, we had to finish stripping out another room into which we will move all of our various stored things like furniture we do not yet have a place for and Christmas decorations. (Though we could just put them up, it is AUGUST after all.) Then we have to strip this future-site-of-bathroom room. (Right now it has lovely woven grass wallpaper, so we call it the Jungle Room.) Once we gut it, in goes the fixtures and mosaic floor,etc. Fortunately for us, the Jungle Room needs the least amount of work, since it is an addition put onto the house in the seventies.

Secondly, the sink, which will be the focus of and inspiration for the room, is going to be made by my parents' friend and amazing ceramacist Sarah Noebels of Original Sin Designs.

I know, how lucky are we?! Well, let me tell you just how lucky we are: in addition to my parents giving us a one of a kind sink created by an artist featured at the Bill Clinton Library (that's right, Miss other-half-of-the-Sycamore-Street-Hussies, a democrat!), we stopped at Lowe's last night for something unrelated and found discontinued miniature chandeliers marked down from $80 to $14.50 that perfectly go with the design for this bathroom.

(The chandelier I want for the bathroom is not in the budget, so I figure I can fake it with glass fruit on another chandelier. I'm resourceful and crafty like that.

The little chandelier "pendants" that we bought last night will be a great accent clustered over the sink, you know, the one created by Sarah Noebels. This bathroom is going to be over the top: the inspiration is the three graces, because I've always wanted a Roman era style tub with mosaics and Pompeii style murals and I love Sarah Noebels's buxom, nudey women.

So, if you visit me and use the guest bathroom downstairs, you'll probably want to hang out in it and take a bath and revel in our fantastic art and good taste, and that will be just fine by me.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!