Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

The Hub

PimpCups

Big Poppa

Suit of Meat

Funny �cause it�s True

Pound

One Good Thing

Bobofett

Sid�s Fishbowl

Erin Shea

Disco

Trance

James Wolcott

Weetabix

Hiss

Join my Notify List and get email whenever I get around to putting something new here:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

2005-08-05 - 11:38 a.m.

The Adventures of Madame Kashmir Polyestra

The Adventures of Madame Kashmir Polyestra

Last night was the final class in my second session of belly dancing classes. (My butt poncho was a hit, by the way. Thanks for asking.) Perhaps as a ploy to keep the class coming back, we learned half of a choreography. I say �class� but really it was only yours truly and the one other person because my buds C & A were preoccupied for the evening.

I also broke it to Ishtara there that I would not be dancing in public, even if she thinks this new choreography is cute-as-pie and she thinks I picked it up so quickly and she further plies me with such compliments like, �Your hips have really gotten loose!� �Look at that belly roll;* you have got it!� and �You really have loose hips.�

The hub asked that I not advertise that, so, um, oops!

He made that request this morning as I left for work with the admonition, �Loose hips sink ships,� probably certain that I would go around and peddle these bad boys. �Hey, check out these loose puppies! I got yer loose hips, right here!� He knows me too well.

We also decided this morning, as we lolled about in bed, indolent about starting the day in the cubicle (for me) and the walking of the dogs (for him), that my stage name should be Kashmir Polyestra (blend).

So, now I have half of a choreography under my figurative bejeweled belt. Yep. She even sent me home with a CD to practice. I showed the hub, complete with butt poncho and belly dancer face, of course. And he laughed,** of course, particularly when I got to the end of the part that I�d learned and said, �And that�s all I�ve got.�

Anyway, Saturday we are going over to Ishtara�s house for a mini-hafla of eating, drinking, watching performance videos and checking out her extensive costume collection.

*By the way, belly dancing is the only situation when a belly roll is actually a good thing. I practice every day in the car during my commute. I am working my way up to the quarter business. I�m not above cheap bar tricks, people.

**Though he seemed to appreciate my floor work, thinking I was working my way up to a lap dance. Sheesh.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!