Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

The Hub

PimpCups

Big Poppa

Suit of Meat

Funny �cause it�s True

Pound

One Good Thing

Bobofett

Sid�s Fishbowl

Erin Shea

Disco

Trance

James Wolcott

Weetabix

Hiss

Join my Notify List and get email whenever I get around to putting something new here:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

2005-07-05 - 4:26 p.m.

My issues with rap music

My issues with rap music:
Do I have a problem with the violence, the misogyny, the materialism, the use of the N word, the relentless sampled beats? Well, maybe sometimes, but I am in fact a rap, hip-hop, R&B junkie. I love it. I mostly don�t even care that the music is filled with questionable content, such things that would have bothered me before. I am however obsessed with pretentious diction and non-words. (Well, hell, just look at my reading list in the previous entry.)

For example, the incessant use of the word female. True, maybe it�s better than bitches and hos, but come on people! It is just odd and pretentious and bothers me even more when I hear it in everyday speech, and I feel that it really works better as an adjective than a noun.

How about the word conversate? Maybe it forces a rhyme, but this one just pisses me off. It makes you sound stupid! Quit it.

Finally, 50 Cent, there is something you should know: In your hit, Candy Shop* featuring Olivia, you use the line �If you be a nympho, I'll be a nympho.� I don�t think that�s what you mean.

Of course, nympho rhymes with itself, which would not work with, say, satyr, which I think is the word for which you were searching. Of course, if you are a sexually insatiable FEMALE, than by all means, work that. And use female as a noun while you are at it. Just abuse the shit out of it.

*(Which I must confess, I love, save for the nympho line.) The nymphomania reference is just all wrong, since there is, in our culture, nothing wrong with satyriasis or insatiable male sexual impulses to really identify it as a disorder. (Not that I�m okay with that, I�m just saying.) Maybe 50 just likes to think of himself as a nymph, which is cool. I just hadn�t pictured him that in-touch with his feminine side. Maybe when he refers to his magic stick, he really means a wand.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!