Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

The Hub

PimpCups

Big Poppa

Suit of Meat

Funny �cause it�s True

Pound

One Good Thing

Bobofett

Sid�s Fishbowl

Erin Shea

Disco

Trance

James Wolcott

Weetabix

Hiss

Join my Notify List and get email whenever I get around to putting something new here:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

2005-06-28 - 2:10 p.m.

Beagles and Belly Dancing

Anyone interested in a beagle mix? 'Cause he's not staying. (And I mean it this time.)

This morning a stray dog was running around in the park across the street from our house. The hub, rescuer of animals that sometimes do not need it, grew concerned when the little thing kept running into traffic. Regardless of how late we might be for work, we grabbed some treats and a leash and started dog-wrangling.

After our chasing the bugger around without any luck, my neighbor (one half of the Sycamore Street Hussies, as you may remember) who is also known as "The Dog Whisperer" was able to do in 3.75 seconds what we were not successfully able to do for a good fifteen minutes. Not only did she have the dog eating out of her hand, she had him tucked under her arm, oblivious of stench and fleas, like an accessory.

The little guy is now fed and watered and temporarily residing in our fenced side yard. Tonight I guess we will give him a bath and pretty him up and try to find him a home. Even if he belongs to someone, I am not willing to give him back since he is dirty and unkempt with long nails and dirty eyes, malnourished, flea-infested, looks to have worms, and is still intact and probably has impregnated half the neighborhood strays by now.

He is adorable though, and quiet. He hasn't said a peep, even when our pups were barking their heads off at him. He's cute, and he could be yours! He's small and will hardly take up any room ... think about it, okay? 'Cause we are not adding a sixth pet to our menagerie, well seventh, actually, if you count my sister's dog who will be moving-in in August when my sister takes up residency in our guest room.

In other news, session two of Belly Dancing starts this week.

Last week was the close of my six-week beginner's class. I am obsessed with this in a way I was not with my African dance classes. I think it may be the finger cymbals.

In addition to this next session, I am going to be taking a four week Belly Dancing Intensive course with another instructor in October (which will have a finger cymbal concentration, people!) if I can get in ... (The August and September classes filled up before I could sign up.)

I have been practicing my hip drops in the mirror in anticipation.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!